Posted on

Well HP, we had a good run!

To-do list: DIY!

We are still without internet at La Casa de Carla! Who is Carla you ask? She is a ceramic pig who lives in our kitchen. (Don’t judge too harshly, I don’t have Maggie, internet, or cable). So that means that posting has been scarce, but hopefully we get it settled soon! Though I must admit not much has happened between my last post and now. I did a little bit of organizing (a little that needed to be a lot). But one really big thing happened…basically my childhood (and possibly all things good) ended last night as the last Harry Potter movie was released.

Alright…maybe I am being a little dramatic. Not all good things ended, but it was bittersweet. Both exciting and devastating (yes, there I go again with the dramatics). But you have to understand, I started reading the Harry Potter series when I was a fifth grader, which was probably the year or the second year it was released in America. I grew up with the series. So that, combined with my tendency to become attached to fictional characters (it’s the occupational hazard of being a bookworm) meant that this franchise was a BIG deal. And now, many years later, it’s over.

So anyway, last night I went to one of my favorite theatres  with Maren and Jeanette to soak in the excitement of midnight releases and a bunch of nerds dressed up in Harry Potter costumes. It was fantastically nerdy! As you may imagine the theatre was packed and some of our waiting time highlights included me drinking Windex pop that tasted like Windex and having Maren’s pop spilled on me and all over the floor. But don’t worry, nothing, not even the woman sleeping next to me, could take away the awesomeness of the event! The movie was great, though I am still trying to process it. I will probably have to go soon so I can re-evaluate it without the critical eye of Harry Potter fanaticism. (Why yes, I do think I am a pretentious movie viewer, how did you guess? Was it all the great cinematic treasures I reference?).  All-in-all, it was a highlight of the season!

Now really I should be evaluating is that the most exciting thing to happen to me this summer (sorry Katie and Josh, you made for a really close second. Alright, alright, your wedding can tie for first) was the release of the last Harry Potter film. It may actually be the most momentous thing to happen in 2011. Now do you understand why blogging about my life adventures may be a bit difficult at times? May need to rethink some things…

But seriously, for all of you readers out there who have never read Harry Potter: do it. You will not regret it, and while the movies cannot begin to touch the genius that is J.K. Rowling, they are also quite enjoyable!

I hope you all have a fantastic weekend, I hope to get a post up sometime before Monday evening, and hopefully it will be showcasing the beginnings of our new apartment’s transformation. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

